If your server configuration has become corrupted, compromised by hackers, or if you happen to accidentally lose important data, you can restore your server to a previous state using the Snapshot Backup tool.
You can purchase up to 5 total Snapshot Backup slots via the AccountCenter. For instructions, please read this article: Purchase a Snapshot Backup.
- You can only restore via the Snapshot Backup if you have made a previous snapshot backup.
- Restored data will revert to the date and time of the snapshot backup.
- All data on the server since the backup was created will be lost.
The information in this article only applies to Legacy DV & VPS Hosting products. This includes: DV w/SSDs (CentOS 7), DV w/SSDs (CentOS 6), DV, DV Developer, & dv 4.0. Be sure to check the service type in your Account Center before continuing with the instructions below:
VZ7 Power Panel
- Log into your Virtuoso7 Power Panel.
- Click on New Backup.
- Depending on your server size, you may need to wait some time for your backup to be created.
- Once your backup is done being created, you will see it listed in your Virtuozzo Power Panel.
- To restore your server with this backup, click the Stop button to turn off your server.
- Select the box next to your backup. Then select Restore Backup.
- A pop-up message will appear to let you know this operation cannot be undone. Click OK to continue.
- Depending on your server size, you may need to wait some time for your server to be restored.
- Once your backup has been restored, click Start to start your server up.
VZ6 Power Panel
For Parallel Power Panel you will need to login with the username: root
- Log into your Parallels Power Panel.
To pull up the login screen, open a browser and navigate to:
(replace the "xxxx-xxxx" with your personal access domain)
(replace the "0" characters with your server's IP address).
For more instructions and screenshots, please see: How do I access my Parallels Power Panel?
- From the left navigation menu, click on Maintenance.
- Under the Backups tab, check the box next the back up you'd like to use.
WARNING: This will wipe the current content of your server and replace it with the backup content.
- Click the Restore Virtual Environment button.
- You will receive a confirmation message that your restoration has been scheduled. For additional information, you may click the Details.
Your restoration will now start. It may take some time to complete, depending on how much data is included in your backup.
All data between the time you made your last backup and now will be lost.
- Please see Backup Options for more backup possibilities.